PDA

View Full Version : diabetes

bfitz
03-31-2003, 22:08
I am a diabetic planning a thru-hike. I'm looking for any advice or anecdotes from other insulin dependant (type 1) diabetics. I haven't been able to find anything worthwhile online. anyone ?

Rancid
04-01-2003, 22:15
I've been hiking for 19 yrs. as an insulin dependent diabetic. I plan to thru-hike the AT in 2005, although I've hiked about 450 mi. in sections and also several trails in the Southwest.
It takes a lot of experimenting and note taking to make your needed insulin reductions. I will say for sure that you will reduce your injections by more than 50%. I'll be glad to help you because I also could not find any writen info. I will contact you by E-mail tomorrow with some advice.
Fear not, it will not hold us back; besides, it's the only time that I can eat a Snickers!

Guy Holcomb
04-02-2003, 12:36
I have Type 1 diabetes and have several years of backpacking experience, mostly short trips of less than a week. I hope to be able to start my thru hike when I retire within the next few years.

One tip; freezing destroys insulin. If there is a chance of freezing temps during the night put your insulin in your sleeping bag with you.

I am glad to see this thread. I look forward to learning tips and tricks that have been successful for others. I will try to share my knowledge as I think of things.

SedentarySteve
04-02-2003, 13:43
Interview with Space Monkey, a diabetic, in Duncannon on June 16, 2002.
“What’s that bracelet you’re wearing?”
“It’s a diabetic medical bracelet. Diabetes is a balancing act whether you are at home or on the trail. You have to keep the blood sugar not too high or not too low. Your body is processing more sugar than usual so you don’t have to shoot up as much.”
“What all do you carry?”