PDA

View Full Version : North Florida Trails

flagator
08-17-2006, 18:14
Hey all,
I'm new to the forums. I have some experience camping and hiking, but not all that much. Im in teriffic shape physically, with all the sports that I play. But i am going to realistic with myself that i may not be quite ready for the AT because of my inexperience. EVen though i would probably we fine. But besides all that, im trying to get my girlfriend to eventually go on either a thru-hike, or atleast a month long hike with me, and she has agreed to go, but has absolutely no clue how to prepare and im not exactly wise on the subject. Any one have any suggestions on trails we could do a nice weekend trip or 3-4 days on. I've looked into the florida trail, but for one they are sold out of maps for the section closest to me, they wont get more until November they say. ANd secondly I read on their site, that they are redoing certain segments, in my section and that you must be a florida trail member to use some of them at all. I just need some suggestions on where to go in my area to get the practice necessary to one day make it to the AT trail.

Amigi'sLastStand
08-17-2006, 18:17
The Ocala N and S sections of the FNST in the Ocala National Forest. YOu really dont need a map for those areas, easy resupply, and your never too far from civilization for safety's sake until you gain more knowledge. The N section is pretty dry even in the rainy season. The S section can flood out even after 3 days of rain. But right now, both sections are clear according the ONF ranger station.

flagator
08-17-2006, 18:26
Thanks for the reply. The florida trail site seems to have a lot of information, but I'm still having a hard time figuring out things from it. I read that you have to be a member to use a lot of the trails, and i don't want to run into that. So the trails your reffering to will not require membership?

Amigi'sLastStand
08-17-2006, 18:32