PDA

View Full Version : SW VA trail angels?

selahpeace
08-20-2006, 11:17
Hello, I am new to all of this, and find the idea of the AT, and those who have spent lots of time on it very very attractive. I probably wont be able to hike significant amounts of it in the near future, but one thing i'm interested in doing is becoming a trail angel. Are they self-professed or is there an organization of them? Can anyone just be one? Are there any in Southwest Virginia that would be interested in doing some hikes and leaving some gifts for the hikers?

-Sandra
:banana

Lone Wolf
08-20-2006, 11:19
Don't leave anything unattended on the AT.

selahpeace
08-20-2006, 12:10
not even fresh water or magic like that? I think you misunderstand me if you think i'm talking about trashing the trails.

Lilred
08-20-2006, 12:38
I agree with Lone Wolf. Don't leave any coolers or bags or drinks, especially food, left unattended. Find a road crossing and give out of the back of your car. Or provide shuttle services for free.

Lone Wolf
08-20-2006, 12:41
not even fresh water or magic like that? I think you misunderstand me if you think i'm talking about trashing the trails.
If you leave fresh water in a gallon jug who's gonna pack out the jug when empty?

selahpeace
08-20-2006, 17:03
alright, let me rephrase. What is a trail angel? What do they do? What is trail magic? What can i do to help out hikers?

And on a different note, after exploring this site a little more than i did before, this will be my last post because it seems that the users of this site (especially the ones that have posted thousands of times) do little more than argue and quarrel over varying opinions on seemingly insignificant issues.

mingo
08-20-2006, 17:34
don't listen to those two. go out and leave a little magic on the trail. knock yourself out. it will be greatly appreciated.

and to lone wolf and liliredwhatever, i hope you are pleased with yourselves now that you have chased away a would-be supporter of the trail