PDA

View Full Version : Planning on doing the whole thing as soon as possible

Canadian Guy
08-21-2006, 12:18
I did parts of the AT when I was younger as part of a french canadian summer camp in Maine, through the three years I went there I traveled the entire the state.
I'm now 22 years old, a philosphy student and having a rough time in life in general: I want to get out of the city that is destroying me and away from all the people I can't stand. The thing is, I did this with counselors and so on, so while I may have hiked, I have very little organizational experience.
I plan on doing Georgia to Maine in order to end with Mt. Katahdin, a mountain I cursed when I went up it because I had hurt one of my knees on the way there and it took me an ungodly amount of time to go up and down it (I think it might have taken me 7 hours total or something) and I feel bad about it.
Most people I have talked to about this are concerned about me doing this alone, and probably for good reasons however I am commited do doing this alone.I'm not even sure where to begin: I have some basic equipment such as backpack, tent and walking boots. I read I should plan spending something around 5000 USD on the whole trip so I'm starting to save up right now.
Well this post is long enough already for someone who doesn't have that much to say really. So I'll go round up some more info and more cash!
Thanks

Lone Wolf
08-21-2006, 12:22
You're at the right place. Do some research here and ask ??? You won't be "alone" on the AT. Tons of folks start northbound.

Canadian Guy
08-21-2006, 12:49
Ah yes
I meant alone as in "away from the people I know". I don't think anyone could take 7 months of total isolation.

hammock engineer
08-21-2006, 12:54
Welcome to WB.

Plenty of threads out there on almost everything. Ask any questions you might have. See you out there next sprng.

Time To Fly 97
08-21-2006, 13:41
How does this sound:

I took 6 months off for ME and I loved every second of it.