PDA

View Full Version : Anyone on the AT Summer of 1977?

BradMT
08-30-2006, 17:05
I've popped in here a bit since White Blaze hit the net but didn't register til today... heck, really not sure where to put this post!

A close high school friend and I flew to Atlanta and hitch-hiked to Springer Mountain to hike the Southern Section of the AT in June 1977... I turned 16 at the shelter on the GA/NC border (June 21, 1977). We hiked up into Virginia, got sick of the heat (record temps and drought) and finished with a couple weeks in late August up in the Adirondaks cooling off! Did over 650 miles. I did just over 1,000 miles of the AT by the time I graduated HS in 1979 but moved West and have never been back.

Anyone around back then? There really weren't many of us!

Thought's?

I imagine the AT has changed!

Ender
08-30-2006, 17:13
Welcome aboard! Would love to see any photos you have from back then.

TJ aka Teej
08-30-2006, 18:25
Welcome, Brad! :welcome In '77 I went from Gorham to Caratunk starting the first weekend after school got out, and then hitched to Katahdin. The ATs changed? Man.. everything's changed!! :D

mweinstone
08-30-2006, 18:39
and most years back then. i allways tagged along with thrubees if i could. i remember hawk. know him? bet not.

fiddlehead
08-30-2006, 22:07
Yeah, i hiked from Springer to DWG in '77 with my then girlfriend, now X-wife (we got along a lot better on the trail than in the working world)
The trail hasn't changed as much as the town stops and options. Back then, most towns had a free place for hikers to stay: Hot Springs had the church hostel, Waynesboro VA and PA had firehouses that let the hikers sleep on their grounds, etc. Bad- hikers have since ruined that and now it's all about making money and rules.
The trail has changed the way i see it in that there are now many more switchbacks. ( i remember the climb up to the "Jump-off" near Stecoah as being the hardest in the 1100 miles we did that year.)