PDA

View Full Version : More On Dehydration.

Kurt301
08-31-2006, 17:31
a synopsis if you will for the more experienced backpackers.

I have an FD-60 snackmaster machine which does a completely excellent job of dehydrating. My question is this I can find no where on the internet where it will geve me deffinate shelf life for meat such has hamburger chicken etc. I am wondering with this dehydrator and say a foodsaver vacuum packer is it possible to make meals such has chicken and rice and spaghetti with hamburger then dehydrate the whole meal and vaccum pack it. If I do this can I expect the same shelf life has the mountian house meals which has been extended now to 7 years? also I see that thier food has a pretty high salt content. any Idea how much I can figure a set amount of salt say for every mg you can extend the life of meats? for example 1 mg of salt will extend the shelf life of recipe's with meats for such and such number of days? if no one really knows the answer to any of this then does someone know by chance where it can be found. I am sure that turkey hamburger etc. has different consistencies of meat fat therefore the shelf should will vary on each per mg of sodium however Mountain House dehydrated meals has a shelf life of seven years no matter what kind of meat is in thier recipe. how is this possible? I am not looking to extend mine for seven years mind you but a year in a pantry with a de hydrated meat product type recipe such has maybe shrimp and broccoli alfredo or cajun chicken with rice and okra would be nice. thank you all in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Skidsteer
08-31-2006, 17:36
Have you seen this study (http://www.pubmedcentral.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=547437)?

Kurt301
08-31-2006, 17:55