PDA

View Full Version : Non US Hikers: Visa issues?

ramblinbob
09-06-2006, 14:07
Do any non-US thru-hikers have any comments on getting a visa to hike the trail?

As a UK resident, I can stay for a month or so but I'm not going to get from Maine to Georgia in that time without serious chemical assistance.

Anyway, the way I understand it is to get a longer term tourist visa you must submit your travel plans in advance, and at an interview at the US embassy show you have sufficient funds to complete your trip. I'm hoping that (excluding the equipmnt I start with and my return air fare) I can do the hike on 3000 dollars.

Has anyone been through this, and can you comment if so?

ardeaitch
09-06-2006, 17:06
Info for international visitors can be found at www.state.gov (http://www.state.gov) and follow the links for tourism. While my info is pretty dated, my wife is from the land down under (Australia). She first came here on a visitors visa in 1980 and it seems to me that it was good for at least 6 months and she was able to extend it fairly easily. Things have changed since the attacks several years ago, so check out the current State Dept. website for info. As you say, they are going to require that you demonstrate financial independence for the period of your stay when you enter the country. I hope you enjoy your visit!

Kaptain Kangaroo
09-06-2006, 17:46
I had to get a visa for my thu-hike this year. The process was slightly annoying (lots of forms & had to go to the consultate for an interview) but I had no problems at all with having my application accepted. It seems that they are very interested in making sure that you have good reasons to return home at the end of your trip ie. family, home owner, job etc. & that you do have enough cash to support yourself. The US consulate web site has all the information & forms you need & explains the process very clearly here is the link to the consulate in London

http://www.usembassy.org.uk/cons_new/visa/niv/index.html