PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Tom Claytor's hammocks.

msupple
09-08-2006, 12:41
First off I'm new to hammocking and am I ever glad I found this site. I had never given it much thought until my daughter special requested a Clark Jungle Hammock with all the bells and whistles as her college graduation present. Is she cool or what? Being somewhat skeptical but curious I had to try it. Long story short, after three nights out I now consider myself an avid devotee!

After much research I'm pretty much decided Tom Claytor's hammocks fit my needs with the Clark in second place. Being minorly claustrophobic I like the way Tom's netting is suspended away from the face and spread out. I also like the built in pocket for an insulated pad and the fact that one side of the netting opens.

My question is which size to buy. I'm 6'2" @ 185lbs. The Expedition model is 8' long and the Jungle Hammock is 9'9". Both are 4'wide. I guess I'm concerned about the "banana back" syndrome. The Jungle model has a diamond fly and the Expedition has a rectangular fly. The rectangular fly has attachment points on the underside for attaching the netting during a heavy rain...a nice feature IMO. I don't believe the diamond fly has that feature. I suppose it could be added later. I suppose I also have the option of an after market fly.

Tom recommended getting the Expedition and then sending it back if I don't like it. Personally I'm thinking bigger is better (and more comfortable) and am leaning toward the Jungle Hammock. Any advice you are willing to dole out to this humble newbie would be greatly appreciated.

Tom's Hammocks can be seen at www.mosquitohammocks.com (http://www.mosquitohammocks.com)

Thanks, Mike Supple

msupple
09-08-2006, 12:45
Oops! the website is www.mosquitohammock.com (http://www.mosquitohammock.com) ....no "s" on the end.

frequency
09-08-2006, 16:29