PDA

View Full Version : Late May thru-hike start in GA

hikerat2002
04-23-2003, 19:34
How many thru-hikers will I run into if I leave late May from Springer? I want to start that late due to some obligations but also, I really would like to have some solitude at shelters/on the trail. Been there, done that April Springer start years ago. My hike lasted about 4.5 months then. I am anticipating doing it in same or less time as I have some 20/20 hindsight of what NOT to do now vs. when I was a newbie (-ie- no heavy pack, carry less food, bring better gear, etc.). The weather in late September/early October in Maine should be OK, so here I go.

thestin
04-23-2003, 19:46
Based on my experience from the last few years (Section hiking and dayhiking) you will be one of the last thru hikers going northbound. The trail will be quiet during the week as you head thru GA, but busy on the weekends. Smokies will be packed with people out on late spring/early summer trips. Pretty crowded north of the Smokies to Damascus with section hikers. You will most likely run into some large scout groups who will completely take over shelter areas. Trees will be leafed out, so you will be in the "green tunnel" for much of the hike.

You will have mucho daylight, so you can cover many miles by hiking steady.

Have fun! Widh I was going.

thestin
04-23-2003, 19:46
That should be "wish I was going"

I'm lost w/o spell check.

Blue Jay
04-24-2003, 07:52
Good Choice, I did that in 2001. All three flowering shrubs, Azalias, Rhodadendron and Mountain Laurel, will be in bloom. You'll be walking in glory.

Peaks
04-24-2003, 08:09
Based on a survey by Roland Mueser, and published in his book "Long Distance Hiking,", the first week of May is about the latest start for a thru-hike. In fact, 95% of the thru-hikers have started before April 27.