PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping bag dilema

onesocktwin
09-21-2006, 10:02
I am relatively new at backpacking. Made the mistake of buying a rectangular down bag 30 deg. Have used it at this temp with a liner and several layers of clothing including stocking cap and mittens.........still way too cold!

Question: Can I use the Marmot trailite as a liner, or am I going to have to bite the bullet and buy a better mummy bag?

highway
09-21-2006, 11:43
What bag, what weight?
What temperature was it?
Were you sleeping in hammock, tent, tarp, or what?
Did you use a mat?

A 30 degree bag suffices for many for three season use. It has for me for many years and I have occasionally even used it in snow when I had too.

onesocktwin
09-21-2006, 16:23
What bag, what weight?
What temperature was it?
Were you sleeping in hammock, tent, tarp, or what?
Did you use a mat?

A 30 degree bag suffices for many for three season use. It has for me for many years and I have occasionally even used it in snow when I had too.

It is actually a Campmor 20 degree down bag, fill wt. 20 oz Style 40069. I have a Cocoon Travelsheet liner. I was sleeping in a tent with a Thermarest Trail Lite. It was 30 degrees on the AT in mid-March near the GA/NC line. I have since changed to a Women's Prolite 4. I am 5'6" 125# and normally very cold natured. I originally went with a rectangular bag because I was afraid I would feel claustrophobic in a mummy but I cannot sleep if I'm cold.
I am planning a winter trip and need to solve this problem.

hopefulhiker
09-21-2006, 18:44
My two cents:
A.Go on and spring for a mummy bag and a silk liner. You won't have as much space to keep warm and it will probably be lighter.
B. Try an insulated air mattress like the Big Agnes or Pacific Insulmat.
C. or try a back country blanket and an insulated air mattress and a silk liner, this is what I used on the thru.

highway
09-22-2006, 07:18