PDA

View Full Version : Do-over For Barney Goodman

Just a Hiker
09-22-2006, 01:59
I have been off the trail just long enough to have my heart broken once again by what is going on in the world. I had intended to get off the trail from my SOBO hike long enough to go to the VA Hospital to get a cortisone shot in my foot, and once again I made the mistake of watching the news and reading the newspaper. I am sure many of you don't have a clue who Barney Goodman is, so I'll fill you all in. Barney Goodman was a Disabled Veteran who lived in Texas. Barney was a double amputee who lived on a small Veteran's Pension and was a bit of a loner. In early September two young men attacked and killed Barney Goodman; further, they stole his Pension check and his prosthetic legs and then threw him into the river and left him to die. Barney Goodman was a man who proudly served his country and didn't derserve to die this way. As a Disabled Veteran myself, I can't begin to tell you how angry and hurt I became upon learning of Barney Goodman's death.