PDA

View Full Version : 1st week long backpacking trip - FHT

FHThiker
09-22-2006, 17:09
Hi everyone, I know this is the AT forum, but I just had to share my excitement for my upcoming near week-long backpacking trip I'm doing. I am, without a doubt, doing a 2008 AT thru-hike though (it planned, and I'm already budgeting for it :) ). I've been following this forum for over a year now.

Anyway, I'm doing my first week long trip on the Foothills Trail (FHT) in SC two weeks from today. I've done up to 3 nights before, but nothing near this length. For those of you that don't know, the FHT is a near 80 mile trail that runs from Table Rock State Park to Oconee State Park in South Carolina. I've done all the sections, but never a "thru-hike" of the FHT. I've been training like mad for the past 3-4 months and I'm up to 12-14 mile days (well, 4 days max).

I'm planning to do this hike in 5 nights/6 days. I've always been big into photo documenting/narrating my trips. Here's the start of what will grow into probably more than a hundred pictures by the time I get back...the pics I have so far are my preparations/packing/etc. I will, of course, finish this when I complete the hike in the second week of October. Here are the pics:

http://outdoors.webshots.com/album/554291481gZBgwF

Let me know your thoughts...more to come soon... :)

Cheers!

Phreak
09-22-2006, 17:36
Good luck on your hike! I just got back on Wed from hiking this trail from Oconee to Table Rock. The trail is in overall good condition tho there are a handful of spots where several large trees are blocking the trail.

I look forward to seeing your narrative of your hike.

Earl Grey
09-22-2006, 20:25
Hi everyone, I know this is the AT forum, but I just had to share my excitement for my upcoming near week-long backpacking trip I'm doing. I am, without a doubt, doing a 2008 AT thru-hike though (it planned, and I'm already budgeting for it :) ). I've been following this forum for over a year now.