PDA

View Full Version : Good cheap hiking poles.

Earl Grey
09-22-2006, 21:12
After this past weekend and subsequent knee pains I decided to get some poles. Some people said awww youll get used to it but my pack is kind of on the heavy side. Around 30 lbs. So im in the market for some poles. I saw REI had some for a pretty good price but didnt see any reviews on them. Any others that done cost a fortune?

Blissful
09-22-2006, 21:23
I got my Komperdells from Sierra Trading Post three years ago and still going strong. Got them when they were on sale for $30 a pair.

You can also get Lekis from Campmor for a pretty good deal. They are made by Leki but under the Campmor name, I think.

Forget the Wal mart cheapo brand. My son bent his the first time out.

blackbishop351
09-22-2006, 21:27

On the other hand, I've been using my Walmart poles for over two years with no problems at all. They're heavier than the more expensive ones, but that doesn't bother me overmuch.

Lone Wolf
09-22-2006, 21:35
Earl would pick up a fallen limb once in awhile then discard it. Y'all don't need $100 plus poles. Just walk. I'm 47 and have "bad" knees. Had major surgery. I don't need no stinkin poles. Pain is just weakness leaving the body.:)

Farr Away
09-22-2006, 21:44

I'd say that depends.

I got a set of the WalMart cheapo brand (Swiss Gear) for my last hike - no problems at all. Having said that, I'm on the short-side of average for a woman so I didn't have them fully extended, and while I'm not going to post my weight :p , I'm not overweight for my height, either.

One thing that I really liked was that I could try out hiking with poles without having much money sunk into them. I'm still not sure that I'll always hike with two poles, but my injured knee really appreciated the help on the downhills this time. This was our most challenging, longest distance, hike this year, and my knee came out of the woods feeling better than it had the day before the hike. Way cool!