PDA

View Full Version : best sleeping bag for under $200

nchiker467
10-05-2006, 17:58
suggestions for a sleeping bag for under $200. Needs to be rated to around 20 degrees. down or synthetic. Maybe synthetic, afriad of getting down wet.benn thinking of a tnf cats moew and save some money. Or a jrb no sniveller , use as a top quilt in my hh and use a stupid ccf pad -.-

Tinker
10-05-2006, 18:04
The Cat's Meow is a good, solid, syn. bag. I'm not up on what's new out there in synthetics, though, I've been using down for over 20 years (except for canoeing).

Take a look at Fanatic Fringe top quilts and maybe bring along some exta clothing. Why not use all your insulation to sleep in? Don't carry more than you need.

In situations where you might guess a little optimistically on the low temps, you can carry a silnylon vapor barrier and use that inside your bag to lower the min. temp. rating by as much as 10 degrees for a few ounces. Also, you can use a VBL as a pack liner.

Footslogger
10-05-2006, 18:06
Watch for a sale at REI (or use your dividend check) on the SubKilo. 20 degree down bag.

'Slogger

Blissful
10-05-2006, 19:32
The Cat's Meow is on sale right now at REI. Good deal.

Blissful
10-05-2006, 19:34
The Cat's Meow is on sale right now at REI. Good deal.

Sale starts tomorrow.

nchiker467
10-05-2006, 19:54
i think ill go with down .....or the cats meow aghhh cant decide !!
how bulky is the tnf cats meow, would it fit easy in a gg vt? then agian down would compress smaller, but i dont want to risk getting it wet and having a cold night...

Blissful
10-05-2006, 20:55