PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hiking in 4 months--Possible?

clured
10-15-2006, 12:40
Hey guys,

This is my first post on this forum, although I've been reading for some time. I've wanted to thru-hike the AT my entire life, and things have come together in the last couple of weeks that would make it financially possible in the near future, for the first time ever. This summer, I have a window of about 115 days from the middle of May to the beginning of September.

My question is simple: Is it possible to do the whole trail in 4 months? I am a 19-year-old male college student, 135 lbs, and an experienced backpacker. I am in extremely good physical condition and carry a pack with a base weight of under 10 lbs.

I have spent lots of time hiking the stretch of the AT around Standing Indian in North Carolina. How does the rest of the trail, in terms of difficulty, compare to this area? To finish, I would have to average just under 20 miles a day. I'm confident that I could manage this in the southern half of the trail, but I know very little about the northern half.

Thanks for any tips,
-Dave

SGT Rock
10-15-2006, 13:11
Earl Schaeffer did SOBO in less than 100 days. So you can do it. I can't answer the question about comparing halves though.

emerald
10-15-2006, 13:11
This summer, I have a window of about 115 days from the middle of May to the beginning of September.

My question is simple: Is it possible to do the whole trail in 4 months?

To finish, I would have to average just under 20 miles a day. I'm confident that I could manage this in the southern half of the trail, but I know very little about the northern half.

It's my pleasure to welcome you to whiteblaze.net and to respond to your question.

Given what you have told us, I would say it is possible to hike the whole trail in 4 months. I would call to your attention that this is provided you remain healthy. You will be able to take few days off unless you pay for them with days that exceed your average.