PDA

View Full Version : hello, newbie here

namehere
10-16-2006, 08:03
hello everyone! i've been lurking this website for a while in hopes of gleaning some info on hiking. my hiking experience in the wilderness is virtually nil. i think a decade ago i might have spent 2 nights in a lodge that had no running water/electricity. it was a gruelling hike of fifty feet or so from the car to the lodge through ungraded and uncemented terrain. if i recall correctly, the brush surrounding the lodge had not been trimmed for what seemed like a few months. although the conditions were rough, we managed to survive the second night by hiking back to the car at one point to get the second cooler full of foodstuff (i grew up in the city).

in the coming months i will be afforded the opportunity to do some extended hikes. i am starting with a clean slate (meaning no gear, no experience). i am willing to learn from my mistakes (buying wrong gear, making poor decisions), but would rather avoid common and preventable ones if i can. unfortunately, i live in a metropolitan city in the midwest where the landscape is rather flat, and hiking trails almost non-existent. i will probably end up having to travel south in order to find some significant trails to hike.