PDA

View Full Version : winter hiking

josh litt
10-17-2006, 16:06
As a college student I don't have an opportunity to choose when i hike. So for my winter break, I will be attempting to solo the virginia part of the trail... I know the dangers of going solo but what i want to know are what are the dangers of doing it in the winter. It doesn't seem to be a popular time to hike the trail, but i love winter camping and its the only time I have.

-Josh

jlb2012
10-17-2006, 16:13
solo in the winter or other hypothermia possible weather always has the possibility that one may get hypo and not realize it whereas with a group each can watch out for the other getting the umbles and help the hypo person to make good decisions / get warm

Wolf - 23000
10-17-2006, 16:34
I've done the state of VA several times in the winter solo. Yes there is a danger of hypothermia if you really don't know what your doing. Cold rain at 33 can be a problem but if you know what your doing it not much of one. The biggist problem is closing of stores or hostel for the winter. Some stores down completely shut down for the winter. WF book tell you which ones but just be warn.

Wolf

josh litt
10-17-2006, 17:39
I have done some nols moutaineering courses and am in great shape. To me the idea of backpacking with a 40 lb back is a luxury rather than lugging around all my moutaineering gear. WIll i need to bring snowshoes? im so new to the AT that i dont know much about it. I know of the dangers like hypothermia, and frostbite, im just curious does hiking the at alone put me at risk for some unknown problems.

hammock engineer
10-17-2006, 17:50
One thing to think about to is the amount of daylight. It is going to get light around 7 or 8 am and get dark around 5 or 6pm. I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of night hiking in the cold.

Ramble~On
10-17-2006, 18:17
Josh,