PDA

View Full Version : Umm...any engineers want to help with my crazy problem?

Minervan12
11-08-2006, 14:51
So...I know I know...but I have a strong desire to take my fiddle with me on the trail. It could end up being a mistake...but I can undo it if it is a poor choice. I am not a novice and have already done long sections of the AT but now will be thru-hiking...have also completed a NOLS course...and actually taught at a wilderness therapeutic facility for a number of years...

So, now that you know that...instead of discouraging me...let's work out the issue. I need protection from damage...crushing and water. I have been looking at these tapered kayak bags that are supposed to fit in the front of the kayak and also have air in them to float. I know they'd be waterproof...but...I wonder if the air inside would be enough of a cushion.

I also saw some waterproof padded bags, but they weren't big enough. I have to account for the bow too...

Any suggestions?

RockyTrail
11-08-2006, 15:01
Don't bring the Stradivarius...bring something cheap so you won't have to worry as much. Instruments on an eastern trail like the AT will likely have more problems with ambient humidity than with water itself; you can keep out running water but the humidity and temp extremes will take their toll.

How about one of these (covered in plastic) and strapped to the outside of pack? http://elderly.com/accessories/items/TLC-VIOLIN.htm

Jack Tarlin
11-08-2006, 15:04
You might want to send a PM to Fiddlehead, a regular here on Whiteblaze.

In addition to being, bar none, the finest Trail musician I've ever met, he VERY frequently hikes with a guitar and probably has some ideas or suggestions that might help you.