PDA

View Full Version : A question about AT surface outside NJ

nails
11-08-2006, 21:09
I'm a novice hiker and have only been on the AT in New Jersey. While staying at a shelter I was reading the log. There were several references from Thru-Hikers about the rocks in NJ. Some were hoping the rocks ended soon, others stated that it was hard on their knees, etc. I know that the surface of the AT on the sections I've hiked has been very rocky. So my question is: What is the surface like in other areas? Is the rockiness distinct to the NJ section? Just curious. Thanks.

d2m
11-08-2006, 21:51
generaly speaking there are rocks everywhere. in my opinion it has more to do with the types of rocks in that area ( and in the northern pa for that matter ) it seemed to me that there are a lot of sharp pointy rocks, that are spaced fare enough appart that it is hard to get into a rythem. most people that i have had this discussion with has said that it is one of the rockyiest sections starting at duncannon and ending in high point. but personally i feel that i saw and experienced rocks everywhere and probaly walked over more rocks in nh and me than i did in pa or nj

gumball
11-08-2006, 22:03
Try not to let the rocks psyche you out, nails. That's a particularly annoying section for rocks and I used to hate them, but found that they were wearing more on my mind than on my feet.

Switching to trail runners and out of my boots seemed to help me as well.

Just have fun :)

Kerosene
11-09-2006, 09:16