PDA

View Full Version : Demographics of a WB’er

ARambler
11-09-2006, 16:57
Does Rambler need a cultural makeover???

I have been plodding along as Rambler, nee Ambler Rambler, for a quarter century and was wondering if I was still “in with the in crowd.” Last week, I watched the hip TV show, Grey’s Anatomy. In the previews for tonight’s show, I saw a familiar looking maze of cast iron pipe and realized it looked a lot like what we used to call an External frame backpack. Now in my day, canvas had not been invented, and we had to tie a box onto the frame. The Samarayjardines heretics used a Lebanon-cedar log chest, while I used the traditional stone sarcophagus.

It seems clear to me that retro hiking is about to become the latest cultural craze. Just wait, Drs. will scrub up by wiping their nose on their sleave and their hands on their butt. Tell me Dr. McDreamy is not a trail name.

So, I just need a timeless trailname. I’m a chemist (Chemical Engineer) named Jim, so I was thinking maybe I should be:
Bond, … James Iconic Bond

Footslogger
11-09-2006, 17:06
So, I just need a timeless trailname. I’m a chemist (Chemical Engineer) named Jim, so I was thinking maybe I should be:

=====================================

How bout "Free Radical"

'Slogger

STEVEM
11-09-2006, 17:24
[quote=ARambler;268955]So, I just need a timeless trailname. I’m a chemist (Chemical Engineer) named Jim, so I was thinking maybe I should be:

PennsylvaniaSmith

Skidsteer
11-09-2006, 18:11
...So, I just need a timeless trailname. I’m a chemist (Chemical Engineer) named Jim, so I was thinking maybe I should be:

We could call you Jib for short.

hopefulhiker
11-09-2006, 19:14
Free Radical hiked last year....

Cookerhiker
11-09-2006, 20:59
Does Rambler need a cultural makeover???......

How about the Organic Mechanic?

Alligator
11-09-2006, 23:03
Bionic Ionic

RockyTrail
11-09-2006, 23:35
"HALOJIM"
...looking for just one more good electron!

ARambler
11-10-2006, 00:33