PDA

View Full Version : Idea for a Mail Drop/ Bounce Box/ Shuttle Business

berninbush
11-15-2006, 14:44
Ok, I'll start out by saying that I'm a novice hiker who doesn't live near the AT, but is somewhat fascinated none the less. I've done a lot of reading here over the last few months, and everything I've read about the advantages and disadvantages of mail drops has given me an idea. I don't have the wherewithal to act on this idea myself, and I don't even know if it's feasible, so I'm just flinging it out into cyberspace for anyone to take advantage of it who can.

It seems like two of the biggest objections to mail drops and bounce boxes are being tied to a post office schedule, and the cost and inconvenience of shipment. Though I know some people prefer to "buy as they go" anyway, this comes with its own problems, and I suspect more people might use mail drops if the two big objections could be eliminated.

So here's my idea: form a company that buys up a few square yards of land in strategic locations up and down the trail, maybe every 4-7 days' hike or so, perhaps in trail towns that hikers would like to visit anyway for conveniences like laundry. (Note: I'm talking about developed areas, not actually in the woods!) On the little land parcel, install a set of lockers. Each locker is numbered, and each number corresponds to a particular key, so that the same key unlocks all of the Number 194 lockers (for example) the whole length of the trail.

A thru- or long-section hiker contracts with the company to rent the lockers of a particular number, and receives a key. They can then send their bounce box to whichever of their lockers where they need it, using the company shuttles (see below).