PDA

View Full Version : What is this tree bulge?

Robusto
11-21-2006, 19:49
I went on a section hike in Massachusetts this week, and there were numerous trees with a bulge in the trunk. The bulge was usually up high over five feet from the ground. I posted a picture today so our resident botanists can teach us a few things.
Any idea what causes this?

Check out the photo marked tree problem in last day photos
Robusto

Footslogger
11-21-2006, 20:01
I'm no tree expert but I have been told (by people who are) that this is the result of parasite infestation at some point in the trees life.

Beyond that I can't be of assistance.

'Slogger

TinAbbey
11-21-2006, 20:02
There is a bacteria called Agrobacterium tumafaciens that causes a plant disease called Crown gall. Which basically causes a tumor for the plant. That could possibly be it. Its one idea.
Team STeve

woodsy
11-21-2006, 20:04
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burl

This should answer your question Robusto

hammock engineer
11-21-2006, 20:29
Thanks for the link. There are a lot of trees in one of the parks that I hike in that have these. I have been wondering and thinking about posting something on this for awhile. I was hoping that it would be something cooler than a growth.

Hikerhead
11-21-2006, 20:35
They have one on display at Grandfathers Mtn, NC that was carved out and it's big enough to take a bath in.

Two Speed
11-21-2006, 20:52
Thanks for the link. There are a lot of trees in one of the parks that I hike in that have these. I have been wondering and thinking about posting something on this for awhile. I was hoping that it would be something cooler than a growth.May not be cool, I guess, but it can make for some really good looking woodwork.

Gaiter
11-21-2006, 21:18
fungus, bacteria, parasites, it could be a number of things that caused this.

Lone Wolf
11-21-2006, 21:30
Barbed wire scarring.

emerald
11-21-2006, 23:45