PDA

View Full Version : ULA Conduit or Circuit?

rswanson
12-05-2006, 13:41
I posted this on another forum but WB gets so much more activity so I'm duplicating the post here. I'm in the market (again) for a new pack. I really like the features and durability of the ULA packs so I'm pretty sure I'm going to purchase one although I'm not opposed to alternative suggestions. My goal is to get as small a volume pack as I can get away with. I have no experience with ULA packs other than what I've read so I'm unsure of which pack to order.

My current 3 season gear is about 9lbs. base. I'll use the pack for 2-5 day trips, carrying 2 liters of water tops, so maybe 20lbs total weight. According to the recommended load weights on ULA's website it would seem that the Conduit is the better option but I want to make sure that the Conduit handle the total volume of my gear. I've included approximate stuff sack sizes (probably overestimated somewhat) in case you're familiar with the packs but not my gear.

Shelter: HS Tarptent Contrail 24oz 14x4
Bag: Western Mountaineering Ultralight Super 28oz 13x7
Pad: Pacific Outdoor Max Compact ¾ 14oz 10x4
Pad: Gossamer Gear Thinlight 3oz 19x4
Clothes: Spare clothing, windshirt in stuff sack 12oz 6x14
Insulation: Patagonia Micropuff P/O 13oz 4x5
Raingear: Dropstoppers 10oz 10x4
Cooking: Stove, fuel, pot, spork 14oz 8x6
Utility: Headlamp, medical, toletries, misc. 16oz. 6x14

Keep in mind that I might be carrying as much as a 5 day food supply. I don't like to carry a lot of stuff outside the main pack body, though I understand that might be neccessary. I also understand that I might have to use a different CCF pad (GG Nightlight?) for the Conduit's frame and that's fine. I'll probably carry the POE 3/4 length pad regardless of which CCF pad I use so the pack would have to have room for both. Recommendations?

DawnTreader
12-05-2006, 13:54