PDA

View Full Version : I did not make it! A thru-hike that wasn't

JimSproul
12-06-2006, 21:10
Greetings All –

It has been a long time since I posted on WhiteBlaze. I have lurked a few times but mostly I have stayed away. It has been hard to put these things in words but here goes.

On March 13th of this year I got fired! Not unexpected, I was reorganized into working for a guy that I really did not like. I had been working 7 days a week for several months, including some very long on-site gigs. I was fried and my home life had gone to crap. After a week on the bench, feeling sorry for myself and causing more heart ache at home my wife had had just about enough of me. SHE said “You always wanted to thru hike, why don’t you go!”. So with little preparation, and NO TRAINING, I grabbed a bus to Gainesville, Ga on April 4rd. My pack weighed 51 pounds at the bus station but at least I was going. I dumped a few things at the park but not near enough.

It took about 25 hours to get to Georgia. I arrived mid-morning at the bus station in Gainesville, called a taxi and headed to Amicalola Falls State Park. I started up the approach trail (my third time) at about 1 pm. It got to Frosty Mountain as the sun was getting low. There are a number of nice camp sites so I stopped for the night. I am 53 years old and normally spend a couple of months carrying a heavy pack before I strike out on a backpacking trip. I didn’t do that this time and I was pooped.

On my second day I headed to Springer. I stopped for a break and a snooze at Black Gap shelter, while there I met “Roni from Israel”. I signed the Springer Mountain register on April 6th, my 53rd birthday. Then I finished the day camping in the field above Springer Mountain Shelter. There was a pretty good collection of folks and more than a few thru hikers. “Many Sleeps”, the ATC Ridge Runner was there and added my name to his list of thru hike starters.