PDA

View Full Version : Any teachers?

Peanut
12-08-2006, 08:57
Hello! I've been interested in thru hiking for a while. I am a teacher and am looking at possibly changing schools. If this is what I end up doing, I would like to hike the AT before starting at a new school. I was wondering if anyone else has done something similar. I think I would like to hike NOBO even thought hiking SOBO would let me start right after a school year is over. This though would have me finishing in August pretty close to a new school year. I don't want to rush myself through it to get back in time for a school year (especially b/c I may need some adjusting time)...is this possible? Or should I just resign myself to either a SOBO or looking for a job into the new school year? Thanks for your time!

Peanut:)

chris
12-08-2006, 12:29
I am a teacher and have gone through this a couple of times, sometimes changing jobs, other times in between summers. When I hiked the PCT, I went from being on the trail to being in the classroom (with a move and going to a wedding in between) in less than a week. It wasn't pleasant, but there it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't do it again. The next year on the AT and GDT I had an extra month (change from semesters to quarters) and plenty of downtime. Much more pleasant.

I would go for the hike NOBO, realizing that you'll be hiking faster than most people on the AT. Note that this doesn't mean that you have to do a fast hike. 20 miles a day on the AT isn't a big deal, but it will be more rapid than 95% of the hikers you'll meet. It isn't rushing or racing, and you'll have tons of time to do lots and lots of stuff on the side.