PDA

View Full Version : Easiest 1 week hike on entire AT ??

cubscoutdad
12-10-2006, 23:22
I am new to the AT but not to hiking. I have two sons boy scout
age who want to start hiikng the AT, ultimately doing it all, but in
sections, as vacation schedule allows. I would like to know what sections
are the easiest for new hikers. I have heard the section through
Shennandoah Nat. Park is one of easiest for beginners, and would like to
query the membership as to where to start with a one week hike. Unfortunately this will be last weekend of June, 1st week of July, 07. We will be in Ashville area to pick up one son from scout camp, but can start anywhere. Of course I would like to avoid crowds, but probably not realistic this time of year. Budget not much of a concern but time and difficulty level are big considerations. Any suggestions welcome. We live in Florida so we will be traveling to the start point regardless. Thanks to all.
will wright

strnorm
12-11-2006, 00:33
If you are in ashville, you can start at sams gap thru erwin and roan mt. may not be the easiest part of the AT. but it is beautiful that time of year.good luck:sun

strnorm
12-11-2006, 00:35
by the way welcome:welcome how old are your sons?

Sly
12-11-2006, 01:19
If you don't want to drive very far from Asheville and want a little easier hike than the above, south from Sam's Gap to Hot Springs.

Flying Monkey
12-11-2006, 06:54
Shenandoah NP is fairly easy, and a great beginning hike. It offers some great views and moderately interesting geography, as well as having several places to get off the trail and buy a cheeseburger. I ran into a boy scout troop there last winter on their fourth weekend "training hike", and they were puting down 10-12 mile days with rest-breaks every half-hour. Close campsites and easy road access make the trail tremendously popular as well, so reserving campsites ahead of time might not be a bad idea.