PDA

View Full Version : April and November

maxNcathy
12-13-2006, 10:26
Where I live in Ontario on the 45th parallel April and November are transition months between my outdoor activities of snowsports and water sports.April tends to be wet and muddy and November tends to be wet, cold, and windy.

I am retired so am free to leave for these times. My wife and I backpacked for the first time ever near Damascus this past April.We really liked it and experienced all kinds of weather.

So instead of hanging around home I am going to try hiking the AT this coming year from about March 19 until about May 5. The last week my wife will join me.I will start at Springer and we will finish somewhere up about Erwin.

Any of You folks want to join me to escape the lowlands for the highlands to put some adventure into the months of April and possibly November?

PM me if interested. I am a retired teacher, not judgmental, upbeat and easy-going.

If I like the section from Springer to Damascus I will hike this section each year until I tire of it.

Sandalwood

maxNcathy
12-13-2006, 14:23
Let me ask you folks who are familiar with the AT from Springer to Damascus:
If due to time constraints you had to miss about 80miles of the Trail what section or sections would you not hike?...areas you think less interesting than the rest of the Trail from Springer to Damascus.
Thanks

max patch
12-13-2006, 14:29
I'd skip the GSMNP which is about 70 miles. Not because because the trail is less interesting -- it isn't -- but solely because of the rules and restrictions which are in place.

rafe
12-13-2006, 14:29
If due to time constraints you had to miss about 80miles of the Trail what section or sections would you not hike?...areas you think less interesting than the rest of the Trail from Springer to Damascus.
Thanks

That feels like "Survivor." You know, when a certain chunk of trail gets voted off the island. :( Youch. I for one would not be willing to make that call.

Ender
12-13-2006, 14:30