PDA

View Full Version : NJ/NY section less desirable?

mattyknacks
12-13-2006, 18:14
Hello everyone. I was just curious about something that has been on my mind and figured I would just throw it out there, so here it goes:

I am new to hiking and have been dayhiking on the weekends here in New York and have found out about the Appalachian Trail during my quest for info of trails in my area. I have hiked small pieces of to trail since discovering it and love it alot. I have been doing alot of reading, and it seems that the section I have been exploring and starting to love has the misfortune of being the least desirable section of the trail?

Is this true? And why?

Or am I just making this up in my head?

Lone Wolf
12-13-2006, 18:16
I like NY. It only sucks in July when it's 100 degrees. It's all good.

stickat04
12-13-2006, 18:34
New York was my least favorite state. Really was the pits for me. Bad water, overgrown trail, a little burned out. My mood picked back up going into Kent, CT.

rafe
12-13-2006, 18:41
***** no. It's fine. I sectioned from Bear Mtn. to Dalton in 2005, Bear Mtn to Lehigh Gap this year. NJ was fine. Bear Mtn, Lemon Squeezer, Island Lake, Fitzgerald Falls, Greenwood Lake, Unionville, Highpoint, the whole Kittatinny Ridge, with great views (but not of the Delaware River, till you're almost on top of it.) Heading north from Bear Mtn is a bit less exciting. But hey, you can order pizza by cell phone and have it delivered, at RPH Shelter. You could go for a swim in Canopus Lake, though I didn't dare try at "Nuclear Lake."

STEVEM
12-13-2006, 18:44
I've hiked all of the AT in NJ and most of NY also as day hikes. The trail is very nice and well maintained in both states. It is perhaps a little overused in areas like Bear Mountain and DWG. I never had a problem of any kind with anyone I met, or with parking my car at trailheads. Don't let anyone tell you there's anything wrong with the trail. Have fun.