PDA

View Full Version : Law for Backpackers

The Weasel
12-15-2006, 15:02
It's said that, "Third time's the charm." I hope so. I've read a large number of private messages in the last seveal days, and more public ones. I'm going to do things differently here than I've done before, and hope others will as well.

This thread is for questions and answers about legal issues that can affect backpackers, particularly on the AT, but elsewhere as well. It's governed by the special rules for "Straight Forward," found here. http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=12441 It is my wish that this thread remain in that Forum. Readers can help me make that possible.

Anyone can post a question. I'll try to answer most. I've been a lawyer for 34 years, and I'm admitted in Michigan and California, whose laws are often very similar to the other 54 or so American states and territories. As to differences, for many situations, I'll try to do a little research if I can. Others who are lawyers, law enforcement officers, or otherwise have special training or knowledge of a legal issue are encouraged to answer as well, including disagreeing with and correcting me. If you are such a person, please say so, so that readers will know you have some knowledge of the topic.

As I've done before, I discourage those who are not trained or experienced in a particular area from stating what they think the law may be. There are a lot of reasons for that, and this request isn't meant to offend others. But law can be very complex, even on topics that seem simple.

The goal here is to both help people with questions they have, and to come up with a consolidated "article" to post on WhiteBlaze. By asking questions that are "on topic", you help WhiteBlaze as well as yourself.

Please remember that statements of law here are not intended to serve as legal advice for specific situations. With any specific issue that affects you, please consult with a lawyer licensed in your jurisdiction.

Thank you.