PDA

View Full Version : Hello all...new guy checking in.

Orange_Crush
12-19-2006, 11:29
Hi everyone. I am a neophyte in the hiking world and am planning on taking a week with my brothers to hike the NC/TN section of the AT in early june.

I have been advised by several people that a multi-day AT hike is one of those things that I must do before I die...so now's as good a time as any.

Any suggestions you may have for me would be sincerely appreciated.:D

I will probably be asking a lot of annoying typical newbie questions, so please have patience with me.

Ender
12-19-2006, 11:56
:welcome

Newbie questions or no, ask anyway. Also, try running searches for topics first. A lot of the questions are already out there, they just need to be dug up.

Swiss Roll
12-19-2006, 11:57
I am new to backpacking also, so I can't give advice, but I will tell you this, it will be the best week of your life. Enjoy!

jesse
12-19-2006, 12:10
Take as many weekend/overnight trips as you can. Get use to your gear and living on the trail. My first weekend trips to the Cohutta and the AT were great except for the weight I was carrying.

Big Dawg
12-19-2006, 12:15
Hi everyone. I am a neophyte in the hiking world and am planning on taking a week with my brothers to hike the NC/TN section of the AT in early june.

I have been advised by several people that a multi-day AT hike is one of those things that I must do before I die...so now's as good a time as any.

I will probably be asking a lot of annoying typical newbie questions, so please have patience with me.

:welcome to WhiteBlaze, Orange Crush!!!

Smokies, Max Patch, Roan Mountain, are great hiking areas to consider.

Have fun!!!:D

Boat Drinks
12-19-2006, 15:42
As you can see from my Avatar signature, I am a newbie as well. Read as much as you can, then ask questions. The folks are nice here!:welcome :banana

hopefulhiker
12-19-2006, 17:06
Welcome, You will really enjoy that section of the trail... This is a good site.

Bravo