PDA

View Full Version : CT/MA section in late August or early September

Speer Carrier
12-28-2006, 16:48
Help, please from the experts. I'm planning a section hike with my brother-in-law on the CT/MA section. Wondered what to expect in terms of ease of hiking/miles per day on the section.( I've hike the whole Georgia section, and NC as far as Fontana. I'm no novice at hiking, but never hiked in the north) Also, how are the crowds at that time of year. Any interesting things to see, or places to stay on the trail? or off? What can we expect for weather that time of year?

Thanks for any input

Speer Carrier

rafe
12-28-2006, 16:54
Relatively easy section. The "wave" should be way up north by then, so crowds won't be a problem, except maybe on weekends. Sages Ravine is beautiful. Kent is a popular stop, but not much in the way of cheap lodging. Weather should be fine -- it's the best time of year for hiking, IMO. Bugs are waning or gone, temperatures perfect for hiking.

Lone Wolf
12-28-2006, 16:55
That's a good time to hike that section. Almost all the thru-hikers will be thru there by then so no real crowds and it won't be unbearably hot. You can cover 15 mpd thru there.

Cookerhiker
12-28-2006, 17:07
Re time of year, I would think the mosquitos would have diminished some by late August which should make your hiking enjoyable. Highlights from south to north:

CT - much up and down from NY line including steady but not too steep ascent of Schaghticoke. Some good views west from Schaghticoke. Later, descent down St. Johns Ledges - short but very steep - the steepest part of both states.

CT - after St. J Ldeges, very easy flat 4-5 miles along Housatonic. Afterwards, it's all up and down for the rest of CT until ending at Bear Mountain where the ascent is gradual (but with many false summits) and the descent into Sages Ravine steep.

Keep in mind that in CT, all camping is limited to designated sites and shelters.