PDA

View Full Version : frame or frameless backpack??

happyhunter
12-31-2006, 20:24
I am new to the backpacking scene. I am trying to decide between a pack with an internal frame and a lightweight frameless pack, like a G4. I don't expect to haul a bunch of weight for miles of thru hiking. Just some short weekend trips. I hear some people haul as light as 15 pounds and some as heavy as 50 or 60 pounds.

My only comparison I have is I have a Kelty kid carrier and a little bundle of energy that weighs about 18 pounds. The two together weigh about 25 pounds. I walk the neighborhood hitting all the big hills. About a 2 mile route. It is a lot of fun watching for squirrels and birds and dogs. And I get some exercise. At the end of it my shoulders are feeling the weight. I use the hip belt and do have most of the weight on my hips. However, it seems like the carrier pulls backwards on my shoulders. Tims center of gravity is pretty far behind me and that would pull backwards on my shoulders. Is the child carrier anything like a pack?? If my carrier (with hip belt) pulls this hard on my shoulders I may do well to avoid a frameless pack.

copythat
12-31-2006, 20:51
my experience: kid carriers don't relate to well-designed/well-packed backpacks, whether they're external frame, internal frame or frameless. the kid (i've carried each of my three for plenty of miles) carries high and outside and the whole setup relies heavily (pun intended) on the shoulders.

FanaticFringer
12-31-2006, 20:51
I've got a FanaticFringe Thompson Peak pack that I really like. Weighs 10.5 ounces with hip belt.
www.fanaticfringe.com/page5.html

Spock
12-31-2006, 21:59
HappyHunter,
Decide what the pack has to carry, then pick a pack to fit.