PDA

View Full Version : Tarptents... Help me understand the concept...

Socrates
01-07-2007, 14:07
Sorry for multiple posts, but I figure each question should be placed into it's own category so that its meaning isn't lost in a scramble...
Anyway, I'm looking at the Tarptent Double Rainbow and between space and weight, it looks very inviting.
But since I'm no pro and have never seen one in person, this is where I need your help: It looks complicated and time consuming to set up. The bottom looks like an open invitation for water to come in and have a party with my down sleeping bag. I am NOT fond of the thought of being visited by bugs and snakes while sleeping. And if the wind blows too hard, it looks like it would rattle inside and out.
These are only my inital visual perceptions of it, however the word seems to be that they're sweeter than candy so please educate me on how they really work. Thanks.

Ewker
01-07-2007, 14:11
I don't have the tarptent you mentioned but I do have the Squall. Mine has the built in floor and mesh around the sides. I use a down bag and haven't had any problems with it getting wet. Tarptents are great IMO.

bigcranky
01-07-2007, 14:29
Okay here's the concept: A tent has solid walls that are sewn to a solid floor. There may or may not be a second tent on top (a "rainfly") that keeps the water off.

A tarptent is made of just the waterproof fly part. The floor is separate, and they are joined by bug netting all the way around. No bugs. The floor can be clipped up into a "bathtub" style if you need it, but careful site selection will prevent any water from coming under the tent. (Note that for some models the floor is entirely optional. You still get the bug netting, though.)

A tarptent is lighter and airier than a tent, but easier to set up and more protective than a flat tarp. With practice, you should be able to pitch the Rainbow in less than a minute.