PDA

View Full Version : Thru Express or 2 Year Section

Stuart
06-25-2003, 09:56
It is not possible for me to free up 5-6 months for a thru hike, however as a teacher I do have summers off, a week in October, a week in April and a couple weeks off around Christmas. In contemplating possibilities I could:

1. Section hike half one summer and half the next with a few weeklong sections in spring, fall and winter.

Or

2. Devise some type of express thru-hike, 20-mile-a-day deal.

Or

3. Section over an extended period of years.

Ideally of course I'd like to plug along for 5 months. That won't happen for me for 10 years or more and I am concerned that my joints may not be able to make the trip at that point.

Question:

Given the choice of a 2-summer section hike or an express thru hike, which would you pick?

I guess its a trade off between the satisfaction of going all the way in one continuous attempt or the enjoyment of slowing down and taking it all in.

Regarding an express trip I probably could take off a week or two prior to the end of a school year which would bring me up to 3 months off.

Thanks for any input.

Lone Wolf
06-25-2003, 10:08
2 summer section hike.

gravityman
06-25-2003, 10:10
I vote for two summers too. That way you can actually enjoy the trip....

Kerosene
06-25-2003, 10:28
Definitely two summers over an express. If you're concerned about your joints in 10 years then I'd be surprised if your joints would hold up to daily 20's with few breaks. In 10 years, go back and hike your favorite sections during different seasons.

TedB
06-25-2003, 12:21
In order to reach the point where you would be able to thru hike in 3 months, you would likely need several thousand miles of experience under your belt. A good way to get some of that experience would be to section hike the trail in 2 years.

Taking two years isn't a bad thing at all. It gives you a chance to fix all the things you did wrong the first year.

kevin
06-26-2003, 00:05
Stuart,