PDA

View Full Version : Becoming a Boy Scout Leader

Chaco Taco
01-09-2007, 20:02
So Ia m interested in trying to join a boy scout group in the area. I am studying to be a teacher and really want to be a part of a troop so I can share my experience I had with young men. What can I do and how can I join up and get put with a group???

Footslogger
01-09-2007, 20:17
OK ...you asked so this was my experience.

Son turned 12 and some of his school friends were joining one of the local troops (Atlanta area) back in '87 - '88. I called the local council and got a listing of the troops in my area and asked around regarding their size and activity levels (some troops are more active than others).

Long story short ...we picked a troop and showed up one night for orientation and to fill out the paperwork. They found out that I was an Eagle Scout and that's when they started sinking their hooks into me.

Now, I'm not complaining because both my son and I got A LOT out of those years. But before going in blindly ...I want to tell you that it is A LOT of work and takes A LOT of your time.

My son made Eagle in '95 and I stayed on as an Asst Scoutmaster until about 2001. The real trick (unless you WANT to spend the rest of your life doing this) is to figure out how to cut back and finally break away. Trust me, if you are serious and committed to the scouting movement it is VERY hard to quit !!

Here's what I would suggest. Decide how much time you have to devote to it. Pick a troop and offer to help in a certain area ...like "Backpacking" and take that on as your primary function. You'll end up doing other things but that will be your focus. Organize seminars (we called them "backpacking 101" ..."102", etc and get the boys (and some of the other adult leaders) interested and involved. Set up a program whereby that subgroup (not all boys in the troop will want to do this) has a monthly outing/activity. Stick with the program and repeat it each year as your troop gets new members.