PDA

View Full Version : Shoes or Boots?

Socrates
01-18-2007, 16:39
I was gonna go with boots, but some guy told me that he wore shoes. What's the deal? and if shoes are ok, just trail shoes?

Ridge Rat
01-18-2007, 16:48
Most ultra-lighters lose the boots for Trail runners... there is no part of the trail that is bad enough that you need heavy duty hiking boots. I personally prefer having trail runners since I do the majority of my hiking in PA/NJ area with the rocky trails... Letting my ankles roll on the rocks actually prevents major high ankle injuries. But, use what you prefer.

EarlyBird2007
01-18-2007, 17:06
I was gonna go with boots, but some guy told me that he wore shoes. What's the deal? and if shoes are ok, just trail shoes?

I started training with New Balance trail runners. They were great for the easy sections near me in the Cumberland Valley. Then I tried them on a rocky section in northern PA near the 501 shelter. They trashed my feet and ankles. I have since gone to Asolo Fugitives, a lightweight composite boot. After @ 300 miles of shakedown hikes, I love them.

My suggestion - don't decide for sure to use trail runners until you've tried them on a tough rocky section and on downhills. But, you may be fine if you are younger than me and have stonger ankles. Try out the trail runners on a tough section to be sure.:D

Footslogger
01-18-2007, 17:17
My experience was similar to that of the previous poster.

I started off with boots (Asolos) and hiked them to Damascus. Switched over to trail runners but when I got to PA that pair of shoes was about dead and I was really feeling the rocks from the underside.

I went with a mid-high Montrail shoe and hiked it to Bear Mountain, NY. There I went back to trail runners and stayed in them until I switched over to my heavier clothing/gear in Glencliff, NH. Got my boots back there and hiked them through the Whites and to Katahdin.