PDA

View Full Version : Six Moon Lunar Solo $$$$$

stag3
01-18-2007, 23:02
First, I already have a HH, so no need to lecture here about the virtues of hanging. But, I need a 3 season tent for hiking above the tree line (No, I don't want to use the HH as a tent.)

The Lunar Solo looks great-nice size, vestibule, and best of all really light. But, $245 is a lot for a tent. So, my question is is this tent worth that kind of money? Or is there a "better" tent for about the same $$? My current tent is a Texsport--$29.99-so this is a big step up in $$$.

My concern is the Lunar is single wall and the fly looks like it is always about 10" off the ground - bad for blowing rain?

For this kind of $$, I don't want to make a mistake.

Stag3

rafe
01-18-2007, 23:14
So, my question is is this tent worth that kind of money? Or is there a "better" tent for about the same $$? My current tent is a Texsport--$29.99-so this is a big step up in $$$.

I have no experience with the Lunar Solo, but I do know a bit about Tarptents at this point, and they're quite competitive, price-wise. I've yet to hear a seriously negative comment about Tarptents from an owner (incl. myself.) A couple of dumb newbie mistakes when I first got it, quickly resolved w/excellent customer support.

Footslogger
01-18-2007, 23:18
I've owned and used the Lunar Solo-e for over 2 years now. As for its value ...I'd say it's worth what I paid for it.

If I was in the market for a solo tent today I'd either buy the Lunar Solo-e or the Tarptent Rainbow from Henry Shires. Ounce for ounce I consider those 2 tents to be the best in class. I'm in the planning stages of a PCT thru and I plan to carry the Lunar Solo-e.

If you have any specific questions about the Lunar Solo-e feel free to PM me.

'Slogger

DrewNC2005
01-19-2007, 11:28
Another vote for the Tarptents. With respect to price, the solo Tarptents (pretty much any model if I can remember correctly) are cheaper than the Lunar Solo-e.