PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Alone...

Yankee
07-09-2003, 11:44
Background...

I am intending to do a 3-4 day forty mile section hike from Indian Grave Gap northbound to the US19E trailhead at the end of the month. A strong possibilty exists that my planned hiking partner may suddenly have to back out.

I have no experience hiking the AT, but have been getting myself in shape for 6 months (down 30 pounds to 5'-10 180), have gone on several local hikes in the 6-8 mile range with a loaded pack and have spent countless hours researching and preparing for this trip. I also run 3 miles 3 times a week and hit the gym twice a week.

I am well equipped but inexperienced in backpack camping in general.

Here's the question. Would you consider it unwise for me to attempt a trip of this magnitude, in this area alone? :-?

Penscal
07-09-2003, 12:04
I have Hiked all of Georgia trail at least once, that is to say, I started out by myself, but usually always ended up camping with others and ending up hiking with others.

Only way to get experinece is to do it. This time of year will be very hot, make sure you have at least a 2 liter (preferably in my opinion) bladder like the playtpus or camel back with feeder hose. Having easy access to water makes a BIG difference (as opposed to having a water bottle in a pocket for instance)

As with most of the Georgia section, you have some very steep climbs and very steep descents, mixed in with a few relatively easy sections, mostly I would say the Georgia section would probably be considered mostly moderate, based on my on physical exertion.

Might be helpful to let folks give you feedback on what your pack weight is and what you are taking, there are always sound ways to reduce pack weight.

Good luck, get into a groove and take time to enjoy the views, that is, don't make it a speed race unless that is your goal.

Lone Wolf
07-09-2003, 12:08