PDA

View Full Version : PATC Cabins in SNP

Teatime
01-25-2007, 06:18
Hi All, My family and I are looking into renting one of the PATC cabins in SNP during Spring Break. We plan on using the cabin as a base for some nice day hikes and exploring. Since I have no experience with these cabins, I was wondering if any of you Whiteblazers did. Here is a list of the cabins I'm looking at:
Corbin
Range View
Rock Spring
Pocoson
Jones Mountain.
Any input or preferences would be appreciated

Fannypack
01-25-2007, 07:47
http://www.patc.net/activities/cabins/ (links on left side of this page have ALL info u should need) - u may want to check the availability link first -
it is my understanding, the best ones (close to Skyline Dr, like Pocosin) go fast so may want to rent asap

Also this link, http://www.nps.gov/shen/planyourvisit/index.htm , maybe helpful to locate the SNP info that u want/need

stag3
01-25-2007, 07:52
My PATC cabin experience is limited to the Medows cabin. The place was really clean and well maintained.

Last year I stayed at the Rock Springs shelter (not the cabin) and some folks were renting the Rock Spring cabin at the same time. Seemed to me like they carried a lot of gear a long way to get to the cabin. I think Corbin is also remote. Depending on the size of your family, you might want to look for a place near the road. But then, maybe you want a long hike? Just my observations.

Stag3

stag3
01-25-2007, 07:55
Oh yea, two more things...I think PATC menbers get to reserve cabins before the general public. Also, talk to the PATC volunteers because some of the cabins have almost no firewood nearby.

Stag3

jlb2012
01-25-2007, 09:09
The walking to Jones cabin is long but at least you are coming from the boundary and not Skyline Drive so you can get in even if the park closes the drive due to snow/ice. The hike up to Bear Church is nice too. Jones cabin is at the end of a spur trail also so you won't have many visitors/hikers passing by.

carolina trekker