PDA

View Full Version : Backpacks

SonrisaJo
07-13-2003, 00:59
I'm considering a 2004 northbound hike, and I've been researching backpacks. I'm sorry if someone already posted something like this - I'm a newbie, please forgive me. :)

Making the decision much harder is the fact that in August I'm spending time in the Boundary Waters of Minnesota. I really need a pack that can handle both BW and AT. Meaning I need light (for the AT) and waterproof (essential for Boundary Waters). I wonder if such a thing exists, or am I better off with two different packs? (Oh, if only money grew on trees.)

Any words of wisdom? Thanks for your time. :)

-Jo

Dirtyoldman
07-13-2003, 05:04
no such thing as a water proof pack, get a light one and use ziplocks/drybags.

Penscal
07-13-2003, 13:26
I've been rather pleased with my Kelty 50th Anniversary pack - slightly under 5 lbs, with detachable side pockets on.

Great feeling and very tight and protected pack, load llift straps are nice as are the anatomically curved shoulder straps

I'm sure there are lighter packs out there but this pack is really comfortable for my personal taste.

Check out article at backpacker.com, was editors pick at one time.

http://www.backpacker.com/gear/

in search type in Kelty 50th Anniverary Pack.

PS, I saved alot of money by using online services such as Campmor and REI.

good luck

kank
07-13-2003, 16:02