PDA

View Full Version : How Much Training is Required?

illininagel
07-14-2003, 00:25
I'm considering giving a thru-hike a shot in 2004. I'm 43 years old. I'm in reasonable, but not exceptional shape. My workout schedule is not overly intense. I do, however, get on the treadmill 3 to 4 times a week. The workout consists of a 45 minutes fast walk on a 2 degree incline.

Is this exercise routine enough to at least allow me to get off to a good start on the trail? Or should I plan to pick up the pace on my exercise routine as the hike gets closer?

celt
07-14-2003, 06:49
Being in shape before hiking the AT makes it easier to adjust to life living on the trail. I'm not an expert but I think a person who walks regularlly (treadmill) would be better prepared than the average AT thru hiker. Adding some walking or hiking with a 20 to 30 pound pack would help. A good thing about the AT is the hiking season is long enough to get in shape on the trail. The information I got before my hike was to go slow in the beginning and not average more than 8 miles a day for a week and then slowly increase your average mileage. Most people will be "trail hard" in about 3 to 4 weeks. Its possible to do this and finish the trail within the hiking season which seems to get longer every year but generally runs from March to mid October (for a northbound hike).

Peaks
07-14-2003, 08:19
Anything that gets your heart rate up and works the lower body is good. If you are doing a treadmill, try doing it with 30 to 40 pounds on your back. A stepmaster is also good.

However, get outside and hit the park, or climb stairs at a stadium. Ride a bike, cross country ski, snow shoe. Plenty of ways to break up the bordum.

Penscal
07-14-2003, 14:03
Agree - definitely add aerobic training to built up lungs and heart. I'm 49, and believe me, not the kiddo use to be, have the muscle power but I definitely will add aerobic training to my workout.