PDA

View Full Version : Newby Question - cooking.

superflatz
01-26-2007, 11:32
I've read where you should cook about 1-200 feet away from your campsite and the trail.

My question is: Wouldn't that be like bushwhacking? Don't you worry about ticks, snakes and other "goodies"? How do you find a decent site that far from your camp to cook in? (Sorry - I guess that's 3 questions).

I know this is elementary to most. I am just learning and want to be prepared - and not break the few rules there are.

bob

Lone Wolf
01-26-2007, 11:43
I've read where you should cook about 1-200 feet away from your campsite and the trail.

My question is: Wouldn't that be like bushwhacking? Don't you worry about ticks, snakes and other "goodies"? How do you find a decent site that far from your camp to cook in? (Sorry - I guess that's 3 questions).

I know this is elementary to most. I am just learning and want to be prepared - and not break the few rules there are.

bob

I cook right outside my tent most times and sleep with my food.

4eyedbuzzard
01-26-2007, 11:47
I cook right outside my tent most times and sleep with my food.

Well Pilgrim, if you sleep with a "heater" you can make your own rules.

Gray Blazer
01-26-2007, 11:47