PDA

View Full Version : FBC Cook Times list

iliketacos
01-26-2007, 20:08
A FBC basic cook times chart:

The following is for not-already-dehydrated foods.

Macaroni: 4 oz. 1 3/4 cup water 30-40 minutes.

Angel Hair: ? oz. ? water ? minutes

Ramen: 1 package 1 1/2 cup water 10 minutes

Anyone feel free to add. Thanks

iliketacos
01-27-2007, 13:27
I FBC the liptons yesterday, I need to tweak the cook time and the amount of water added but here goes:

1 Package Lipton w/ 1/16 cup of powdered milk+2 cups of boiling water at 11 minutes in the cozy. It tasted fine but left about a cup or more of soup.

I'm going to FBC the angel hair tonight. I worked out the couscous times but i think they need to be tweaked a bit. I'm a bit new at this so please, if your so inclined, post if you have some FBC times for store bought items-non dehydrated items. Is there is a thread for this already started let me know if you would. Thanks.

sarbar
01-27-2007, 17:27
Couscous:
1 person: 1/3 cup couscous to 1/2 cup water
2 persons: 3/4 cup couscous to 1 cup water
Add your boiling water, stir well, and let sit for 5-10 minutes in a cozy.

TJ aka Teej
01-27-2007, 17:50

Macaroni: 4 oz. 1 3/4 cup water 30-40 minutes.

Ramen: 1 package 1 1/2 cup water 10 minutes

I'm a bit slow, so help me please - what makes this system a good idea?
I can be eating macncheese or ramen inside of 5 minutes after lighting my stove, so why wait a half hour while your food sits in a pot cozy? Is it just clean-up? What am I missing?

iliketacos
01-27-2007, 19:15

The following is for not-already-dehydrated foods, it is for store bought items off the shelf using a 1 quart Ziploc freezer bag.

Macaroni and cheese: 1 box Mac and Cheese 7.7 oz., a healthy pinch of dehydrated milk, 3 cup water, 20 minutes(iliketacos).