PDA

View Full Version : Going without a sleeping bag

farmermv
01-28-2007, 10:14
Hi, newbie here. Wondering why I can't use a down coat and pants instead of a sleeping bag? Any thoughts?

highway
01-28-2007, 10:19
Perhaps, if it's hot enough.

Perhaps not, if it's cold enough

Mine is my last layer of defense

Lone Wolf
01-28-2007, 10:21
Hi, newbie here. Wondering why I can't use a down coat and pants instead of a sleeping bag? Any thoughts?

sure. but why?

saimyoji
01-28-2007, 10:25

I think when you do the math, the weight savings favors a sleeping bag. You won't hike in your down clothing, you'll be too warm, could damage your expensive gear. The only time you'll need that kind of warmth is in camp, and then the coverage a sleeping bag provides is lighter than all the fabric/insulation used to make a down coat and pants.

There was a recent thread here where a hard core winter hiker talked about only needing a 45* bag, even when temps were below 0* because he'd utilize all his other layers when sleeping. Wish I could recall where that thread was....

Fannypack
01-28-2007, 10:45
There was a recent thread here where a hard core winter hiker talked about only needing a 45* bag, even when temps were below 0* because he'd utilize all his other layers when sleeping. Wish I could recall where that thread was....
wouldn't that mean that all your layers would be wet from sweating while sleeping? what "layers" would u wear the next day during this winter hike?

It would seem that this person w/o a sleeping would be hoping/praying for warm weather the next day.

It seems like this would be a dangerous path to take, i.e., wearing all layers nite after nite, day after day.

highway
01-28-2007, 11:03
You hard-core, seriously cold weather winter hikers are delusional-

Unless you do it in Florida:D

aroth87
01-28-2007, 11:24