PDA

View Full Version : Time off work

nightcrawler
01-29-2007, 16:19
I was wondering about people who were able to get a leave of absence or something similiar from work in order to attempt a thru-hike. I am curious about ways to approach it in order to be successful in getting the time off. As of right now I have resigned myself to section hiking, which isn't bad just not exactly the dream.

Lone Wolf
01-29-2007, 16:20
what is your job?

nightcrawler
01-29-2007, 16:24
I am an engineer. Unfortunately it is a lot of time to take off. Seems like a daunting task to try and campaign for it.

Singe03
01-29-2007, 16:27
I had been layed off before my 2003 hike...

I currently have a job I hate (mostly due to the local management who I don't actually work for) but it pays the bills and lets me save enough to go again in 2008. My approach will likely be something very straight foward like "This is my request for a LOA or my 2 weeks notice, your choice"...

Toolshed
01-29-2007, 16:32
A True Thru-hiker would never even pose the question since there is no answer. "The Hike" comes before any possible rational thought of employment. If you have a concern about time off from work, you are a Section Hiker. Welcome aboard. :welcome

Ridge Rat
01-29-2007, 17:30
The way I am approaching it is simple, approach them something like next january and ask for a leave of absence, if they dont grant it I will quit in march and catch the train. Figure if I quit I can always hunt for a job elsewhere when I finish the trail. Could care less, you only live once, I work to live, dont live to work. The trail calls.

rafe
01-29-2007, 18:06
In 1990, I asked for a six month leave of absence from my engineering job. I wasn't granted a LOA so I just quit. Gave myself about eight or nine months off and then started looking for work again. A couple months after that I was salaryman again, and have been ever since. Sigh.

4eyedbuzzard
01-29-2007, 18:09