PDA

View Full Version : Hike Naked Day?

The Doctor
02-01-2007, 10:56
I'm new to the whole thru hiking thing, but i've done a lot of other hiking on the AT and elsewhere. The question I have is, Is there really a hike naked day or is it just a joke proving my gullibility?

SalParadise
02-01-2007, 11:11
is it just a joke proving my gullibility?

so if I told you it was the first day of summer, would you believe me?

highway
02-01-2007, 11:21
The Sun now exerts its maximum power upon our part of the Earth on ... Summer Solstice 2006: Wednesday, June 21 - 5:26 am PDT. Mark it on your calendar:-?

Frolicking Dinosaurs
02-01-2007, 11:23
It is real and celebrated on June 21 - here is a thread with more details http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=9302

wilderness bob
02-01-2007, 11:41
Been there, done that :)

TurkeyBacon
02-01-2007, 12:04
Yup, its real. People will talk about it before and after June 21. Some people find it amusing, some find it insulting. A nice thing to do would be to hike with shorts or shirt readily accessable to hopefully avoid issues with a pack of giggly children. I can say that on June 21 I was hiking accross Knifes edge in PA and almost fell off of it. Since no one seems to be admitting anything, I can't say how much rug/rock burn I almost, but didn't get.
TB

Lone Wolf
02-01-2007, 12:06
ya never see any hot hiker chicks doing it, always hairy guys

SalParadise
02-01-2007, 12:19
i was sheltering with a group of about 15 boy scouts that night and they told me of a girl who had just passed the shelter who was uh, celebrating the day. she apparently covered up with her arm, but I'm sure the kids had some nice dreams either way.

The Doctor
02-01-2007, 12:33
Nice! June 21st huh? Well I guess that answers that question

Fannypack
02-01-2007, 13:32
6th pic from left - http://www.duke.edu/~gnk3/three_ridges.htm (http://www.duke.edu/%7Egnk3/three_ridges.htm)
(http://www.duke.edu/%7Egnk3/three_ridges.htm)

Boat Drinks
02-01-2007, 13:34