PDA

View Full Version : Is the WM Ultralight TOO warm?

Old Tom Bombadil
02-02-2007, 17:23
I am a newbie to Hiking and have been reading a lot of threads to decide on gear. I will not be able to thru hike for several years. I plan on one Section Hike this summer (Springer up to Franklin, NC). I am in Atlanta and my Dad lives in Lake Toxaway, NC, so I plan on doing a bunch of 2/3 day hikes on the SC Foothills trail and exploring the Chattooga/Batram/NE Ga area.

It looks like the WM is the bag of choice, but since I will be doing a lot of summer camping in GA/SC/NS, is the Ultalight too much bag for me (warmth wise)? I am a cold sleeper, but Id rather be a little cold than hot. Price is not an issue. That being said, it would be nice if the bag I buy will work in the same ares for 3 seasons and a future thru hike. Is the solution to by two bags? Thanks.

Nightwalker
02-02-2007, 18:01
I have a 30° down bag that I use all year. In the Summer, I start it out totally off of me, then use it as a quilt as the night goes on. I usually end up covered to the chin by morning. Just my 2¢

I also have a homemade fleece bag for very warm conditions which makes an excellent liner in the Winter. I think it cost me about $12.00 to make.

Old Tom Bombadil
02-02-2007, 18:02
Sorry, hit the enter button too quick. The bag I am looking at is the WM Ultralight. I am concerned it will be too hot for summer. I have support in NC for drop off/pick up all year, so I plan on a minimum of one 3 day/month in the Cashiers area (except winter)

Heater
02-02-2007, 18:28
It looks like the WM is the bag of choice, but since I will be doing a lot of summer camping in GA/SC/NS, is the Ultalight too much bag for me (warmth wise)? I am a cold sleeper, but Id rather be a little cold than hot. Price is not an issue. That being said, it would be nice if the bag I buy will work in the same ares for 3 seasons and a future thru hike. Is the solution to by two bags? Thanks.