PDA

View Full Version : Time for a new backpack

jimthehiker2006
02-07-2007, 17:10
Hello Everyone,
Well it time for the old Kelty to retire, seem many miles. I need some thoughts on a replacement. Most of my hiking is extened so need to carry a bit, my old pack was an external and I liked it. Is the internal really that much better? Let me know you thoughts.

Jim:-?

Jim Adams
02-07-2007, 18:20
I have been using internal frames for 15 years and they are very handy, secure, and convienient. I have owned and used a kelty, dana, TNF, jansport, camptrails, gregory and osprey but none have been as comfortable as my external from 1990!
geek

gold bond
02-07-2007, 18:38
I just bought a Osprey Cresent 85 and I love it! It has its pros and cons though. Pro's...molded hip belt that can carry alot of weight,up to 65lbs. The hip belt is sturdy and stays tight. molded shoulder straps and they are stout! holds up to 5100 cubes but has compression straps for smaller loads. The hydration pouch is removable and has a strap so it can be used for side treks. Cons...the pack weighs 7 lbs. not alot of outside pockets like the Kelty. Check it out...you may be surprised.

Cuffs
02-07-2007, 19:23
~~~ what was that noise?~~~ a can of worms opening up! I'll second the Osprey packs, but I have the Atmos 50... love it!!

Earl Grey
02-07-2007, 19:26
Definetly the Atmos 50, I have one its been great.

Jack Tarlin
02-07-2007, 19:32
Jim:

There is no "better" in this case. It's ultimately a matter of personal preference. Most hikers today prefer internals, as they hug the body better, allow more flexibility, provide better hip support, don't bounce around as much, and are better in tight spots.

But lots of folks prefer the older-style external frames, which many find more comfortable, and especially cooler.