PDA

View Full Version : Keeping water out of your pack

farmermv
02-09-2007, 15:08
Newbie here. Do most of you use individual waterproof stuff sacks or one large one lining the inside of the entire pack to make it waterproof? Thanks

MarcnNJ
02-09-2007, 15:25
I used these....Sea to Summit USA - Outdoor, Travel and Backpacking Gear (http://www.seatosummit.com/products/display/7)

One for clothing, one for foodbag, one for sleeping bag

hopefulhiker
02-09-2007, 15:42
I have used zip locks, oven bags, and trash bags to keep stuff dry... also Luxury lite pack cylinders are waterproof..

rswanson
02-09-2007, 18:59
Boy did you open up a can of worms! Do some searches and you'll get 1000 best answers. My vote: trash compactor bag as a pack liner. Cheapest, lightest, simplest, most readily available.

Jester2000
02-09-2007, 19:06
rswanson's right about the many opinions. I like my stuff dry. I use a contractor bag for a liner (big, sturdy), a pack cover, and then I even use gallon ziplocks for things I need to keep dry, like my journal, toilet paper, and the incredibly useful journal/toilet paper.

dloome
02-09-2007, 21:10
Compactor bag as pack liner. Works better than anything. I also use a seam sealed stuff sack for my sleeping bag. Backpackinglight.com sells some pack liners too, basically the same thing. A liner will protect those items inside your main pack compartment extremely well, but if your pack has external pockets make sure you protect those items in them as well. For small items I like the Aloksacks also sold at BPL. It's like a ziplock but submersible to 200', and extremely durable, lasts for years.

And yes, it IS a big deal if your stuff gets wet, potentially extremely dangerous. DON'T let your stuff get wet.

Blue Jay
02-09-2007, 21:21
I use a kayak bag as a pack on an old long bed external frame. It floats so you can swim with it.

mweinstone
02-09-2007, 22:24