PDA

View Full Version : Went over to the dark side....bought a Jetboil.

Earl Grey
02-12-2007, 17:01
I had been using an alcohol stove for the past 6 months or so but I saw a deal at a local store on a Jetboil and picked it up. I wont go into the details here because you probaly already know about it but im extremely pleased with it with what ive done with it so far. Last night I boiled 2 cups of water in 1 min whereas the alcohol stove took 5-6 at least. Of course this wasnt scientific at all but you get the idea. Another thing I like about it is if its really cold one could set it up extremely fast to heat up some water to stick in your bag. With an alcohol you ahve to pour the liquid light it blah blah blah.

I will most likely end up using it on the trail this summer so long as canisters are available, which from reading posts it seems like theyre not hard to find.

K0OPG
02-12-2007, 17:49
did you get the tall mug-like pot or the regular pot? I have both but the tall one heats much faster. I really haven't used the regular pot yet.

I have used mine many times and I love it. Hope you enoy it.

Smile
02-12-2007, 17:54
Does the cleaning seem harder to you, or do you think that it's a good trade out with one less piece of equipment (i.e. pot, stove, alchohol container.)

I was considering changing over to one as well, but this cleaning thing was a possible issue after watching a few hikers last year.

Earl Grey
02-12-2007, 18:15
Does the cleaning seem harder to you, or do you think that it's a good trade out with one less piece of equipment (i.e. pot, stove, alchohol container.)

I was considering changing over to one as well, but this cleaning thing was a possible issue after watching a few hikers last year.

I just use it to boil water exclusively. Then I take that water and put it into a freezer bag for what im making. Although I am open to cooking things inside it id rather not because of the cleaning up and usage of more water to do that.

hammock engineer